December 19, 2018
Mostly clear
Mostly clear
FEATURED ADVERTISERS: * Affinity Furniture * Allstate, Brian Zimmerman * Botto’s Italian Market * Calling All Swedesboro Military * Cannon Jewelers * Century Savings * Garden of Eden Flower Shop * Grand Chiropractic Center * Holiday Inn * Liquor Mart * Living Hope Worship * Move With Joanna * Raines Dental * Salem Medical Group * Spartan Planning * St. Stephen’s Christmas Services * Super Fitness * Village Eye Center * Watch Me Learn
The most widely read newspaper in "The New Town Press" area ~ Over 16,000 copies mailed monthly for residents and businesses in Swedesboro, Woolwich Twp., Logan Township, East Greenwich Twp., Mullica Hill, Auburn, South Harrison Twp. areas.

Election Results: Close Race in Woolwich; Dems Take Control

December 6, 2018 12:03 am0 commentsViews: 9

WOOLWICH TWP. – In a close election that got even closer the final ballot count, only 14 votes separated Democrat Natalie Matthais (2,472) and Republican Craig Frederick (2,458) for the two open seats on the Woolwich Township Committee. Four candidates were running for election.

Third place candidate Republican Beth Sawyer finished 64 votes behind the leader with 2,408 votes and Democrat Jeremiah Hawkins finished 198 behind Matthais, with 2,274 votes.

The first vote totals after the polls closed on Nov. 6 had Matthais winning over Frederick by 34 votes.

Matthais currently serves as the Woolwich Township Park Director. Frederick is the current Swedesboro Woolwich Board of Education President.

With the election of Matthais, Democrats will control the Woolwich Township Committee, 3-2. The township committee selects its own mayor from the committee members. Currently the mayor is Republican Jordan Schlump.


Voters in East Greenwich faced a competition for one seat on the committee here. Republican Mayor Dale Archer retained his position on the township committee, defeating his Democratic opponent, Chris Fay. Archer received 2,990 votes to Fay’s 1,624.

The township committee will remain in Republican control, 5-0.


Democrat Bernadine Jackson ran unopposed to retain her seat on the township council. She received 1,868 votes. There were 46 write in votes.

The Logan Mayor and Council are all Democrats.


Incumbents John Horner and Joseph Marino retained their seats on the township committee here, running unopposed. Horner was the top vote getter with 1,121. Marino received 1,117. There were 33 write-in votes. The township committee here remains Republican, 5-0.


Incumbents ran unopposed for their seats on the borough council here. Democrat Mary Alice O’Blennis received 553 votes. Republican Sam Casella received 530. The council here remains in Democratic control 5-2.

By Karen E. Viereck, Editor/Publisher


Leave a Reply

To leave a comment, let us know you are human by finishing this math problem. * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.